Welcome from our President: Terri Barrett

ACM has a very clear vision which is to promote, support and strengthen midwives and midwifery in Australia.  We hope you will find being a member gives you the opportunity to meet other midwives, to be supported in your professional interests and to learn new things relevant to your midwifery practice. 

We welcome your involvement, whether it is by participating in a workshop, presenting your ideas or experiences at a conference, commenting on our draft policies, guidelines and position, or simply contacting us to let us know what’s important to you. 

We facilitate midwives to support each other, feel engaged and be connected with our midwifery sisters and brothers across the country in times of stress and in times of celebration, to be a strong midwifery family.

We are always working on tools to support your practice, based on the latest research evidence on a host of issues surrounding midwifery and maternity care.  The College is active at national, state and local levels and is made up mainly of midwives like you, ably supported by the staff in the Head Office, all of whom work very hard to achieve the goals of the ACM.  Your state or territory branch committee has regular meetings that you are very welcome to attend. 

Our strategic direction

ACM Board voting

In 2015, we launched our new Strategic Plan and our outward-looking vision - Enabling women to be strong and confident mothers. With this Strategic Plan, we have also articulated for the first time our vision for our society; our mission - Midwifery is positioned as the primary profession for quality maternity care. It is now well known that, in every country, midwives are key to the provision of quality maternity care, and our mission is to contribute to having educated, regulated and professionally supported and enabled midwives.

The main themes of our Strategic Plan are to advocate for the visibility of midwives, the positioning of midwifery, and the development of partnership and alliances. Importantly, in the area of reform, we will continue to support the implementation of midwifery continuity of care across the country, ensuring every women has one-to-one care in labour and advocating for Birthing on Country programs. Our Strategic Plan brings us back to being forward thinking and outward facing.

How do we advocate for midwives?

•    are members of the midwifery education accreditation committees
•    are members of the Australian Nursing and Midwifery Accreditation Council
•    engage with and influence the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (our regulators)
•    provide conferences, seminars, webinars and workshops for midwives
•    are represented on every committee or body that decides about maternity care and the work of midwives
•    lobby government ministers, advisors and policy makers about midwifery at every opportunity and in every forum

To truly make a difference, we need all midwives to join, engage, set the direction and contribute in a positive way.

What can you do to get involved?

There are a lot of ways that you can get involved and be part of the College midwifery family. We can only achieve our goals if we work together. We hope you will engage in our work through being part of our Advisory Committees or consider being part of the Council or running for the Board. We hope you will engage in the continuing professional development opportunities that we offer, be inspired by our conferences and seminars, connect with your peers through our networking activities, respond to consultations and initiatives that we promote, and join committees that work with other stakeholder groups (eg RANZCOG, ANMF, RCN).

Also vital is the work you can do at a local level to make sure that the unique role of the midwife is understood and respected in industrial and professional contexts and that the voices of midwives are heard.

Please walk with us on this journey and encourage your colleagues to join us as well.

Terri Barrett