Home  |  About Us  |  Contact Us  |  Useful Links  |  Branches  |  Employment  |  Search  
   Location : Home > Communication > Midwifery Practice Standards

Practice Codes and Standards

ANMC National Competency Standards for the Midwife

The national competency standards for the midwife are the core competency standards by which your performance is assessed to obtain and retain your license to practice as a midwife in Australia.  Every midwife registered in Australia must be aware of and practice in accordance with these standards.

They are also used to assess midwives educated overseas seeking to work in Australia, and to assess midwives returning to work after breaks in service. They are the yardstick by which regulatory boards assess a midwife’s conduct during any  professional conduct matters.  The regulatory bodies may also apply the competency standards in order to communicate to consumers the standards that they can expect from midwives.

Universities also use the standards when developing midwifery curricula, and to assess student and new graduate performance.

Download standards here

Code of Professional Conduct for Midwives (ANMC 2008)

Each midwives as a professional practitioner is accountable for their practice and work within relevant legislation. The midwife’s practice is also guided by the ACM Code of Ethics and ANMC Competency Standards for Midwives.

During 2007 the Australian Nursing and Midwifery Council (ANMC) commissioned a project to establish a Code of Professional Conduct for Midwives.  There was extensive consultation with midwives across Australia including clinicians, educators, managers, policy makers, regulators and other health professionals.

ACM actively participated in this project, and has endorsed the Code of Professional Conduct for Midwives, as published in August 2008.

Click here to access the Code of Professional Conduct

Code of Ethics for Midwives

This Code of Ethics for Midwives in Australia has been developed for the midwifery profession in Australia. It is relevant to all midwives in all areas of maternity services including those encompassing the midwifery practice, management, education and research domains.1 Midwives have a responsibility to promote this Code in midwifery and maternity services, participating in policy at all levels of governance, and developing their knowledge and understanding of ethics and midwifery in order to respond effectively to issues arising from their practice.

The Code was developed by the Australian Nursing and Midwifery Council in collaboration with the Australian College of Midwives and the Australian Nursing Federation.  Consultation took place with midwives across Australia as well as with consumers and other health professionals.  The ACM has endorsed the Code of Ethics for Midwives (2008).

Click here to access the Code of Ethics for Midwives

ANMC Standards and Criteria for Accreditation of Midwifery Courses Leading to Registration in Australia, with Evidence Guide 2009

In November 2009, the ANMC launched these new national education standards for midwifery entry to practice courses in Australia.  They follow on from over 4 years of consultation within the midwifery profession, and with regulators, managers, educators, consumers and others.

The Australian College of Midwives actively contributed to the development of the standards.  ACM supports the standards being endorsed and applied by the new Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia.

Click here to access the Midwives Education Standard from the ANMC’s website.



Forgotten Password?





Copyright 2011 The Australian College of Midwives. All rights reserved. | Terms Of Use

Home | About Us | Contact Us | Useful Links | Branches | Membership | Professional Development | Publications | Events | Services